I haven’t seen Richard since our Ontario trip…

So seeing him again was a really good feeling.

I was trying to leave early on Friday… But too many things kept popping up.

So I arrived maybe a little after 7:30 PM… It was so cute because he looked so happy to see me. HAHAHA. It always feels good when I come back to his place… It’s like such a nice, familiar feeling… The smell of his apartment, the feeling of his floor, and just… the atmosphere. It felt so nice to be back. Richard had a cauliflower wrap waiting for me from my favorite Lebanese place near his house. IT WAS SO GOOD. Ugh. I was hungry, so I didn’t even have time to really take a picture of it before I ate it.

We ate dinner and then we just caught up. Chatted. I didn’t want to say anything about the application rejection just because… I don’t know. I didn’t want the weekend to feel negative in any way. I was so excited and happy to see Richard, I didn’t want any of that darker stuff coming into the picture.

I’m not really sure what we did on Friday.  I kind of forgot. I think my memory might be fading LOL. I remember we drank wine. We went to bed relatively early because we had to get up early the next morning for whale watching!

The next morning, we got up, got ready, and headed out to see some whales! But first, we stopped at Walmart and Subway to grab sunscreen and our lunch. I was very excited. I’d always wanted to go whale watching, but my parents were kind of weirdly against doing it? Like, we didn’t have enough money to. But my mom has recently been wanting to go, so I’m thinking maybe that’ll be a Mother’s Day/Birthday gift to her? We got A&W for breakfast. SO tasty. We ate as we drove down. 🙂 I love when we go on trips like this because it’s like… I don’t know. I like when we grab a bite and then we’re on the go. It feels very “trip” like. hahaha.

Anyways, so we headed down to Granville Island. It’s really a beautiful place… I think Granville is my favorite part of Canada so far. I wish I’d taken more pictures… We parked and headed to the office (it was kind of hard to find because you couldn’t see the street names very clearly). We thought we NEEDED to get there 45 minutes early to check in, but the clerks seemed kind of surprised that we’d gotten there so early. So instead, we walked around and waited. I was searching YELP for some cool places to check out while we were there. I also made Richard put on sun screen.

Around 9:50, we made it back to the office and waited for everyone else to show up. It turns out, I’d made Richard wear sun screen for nothing… Because we had to put on these HUGE puffy jumpsuits. Mine was kind of tight around the boobular area (shocking), but I’d already put it on at that point, so I didn’t want to take it off and get another one. I felt dorky and the suit had a weird, musty smell to it. But I didn’t really care at that point because I just really wanted to get on that boat!

Once we boarded, I noticed people had unzipped the torso part of their suits, so I did the same. It was much more comfortable… The weather was perfect for whale watching. The water was flat. No big waves…

We saw harbor seals and harbor porpoises… But no whales.

The first hour or so, I was really engaged and was looking for the whales too. It was really nice to just… be on the water and feel the breeze. But then it got cold… And I had to zip up my suit and kind of just bundle up. But then I dozed off. LOL I dozed off several times, actually… the rocking of the boat was so relaxing… and I think warmth makes me sleepy. So, that’s probably what happened there. Richard fell asleep once too.

I think we came back around 3… So we were on the boat for 5ish hours…

I was a little disappointed that we didn’t see whales, but I still had a really fun time just being on the boat and just being with Richard. He even kissed me on the boat! Which never happens hahaha. The water was beautiful and so calm… We traveled far too. We traveled all the way down Georgia Strait… Then went all the way to the place where Canada meets USA in the water! Then we came back up.

Part of me was slightly relieved because I just wanted to get out of that suit. But the other part of me was sad that it was over. We got into the office, unloaded, and then they told us we were going to be receiving free vouchers for our next visit because we didn’t see any whales. They don’t expire! So we can literally go 10 years from now, and it’ll be good.

It’s cool because now we have an incentive to come back to Granville Island and maybe not pack a lunch. This time, we can buy stuff at the markets and take that with us on the boat.

I fell in love with Granville Island, I mean… Truly. I loved the market place… It was crowded, but nowhere near as crowded as Pike Place. I loved walking around and seeing the little boutiques and shops.

Richard said he really wanted me to try this Raspberry Beer at the local brewery, and since we had a fun time at the Steamwhistle one… We figured why not see if they have tours too. We signed up and paid for the brewery tour and then went to go kill some time since it didn’t start until 5:30 PM.

We walked around a bit more, then we decided to try out some Sake. It looked like a cute little shop. We tried the trio sampler… It was tasty, but strong. I was getting kind of derpy towards the end. We ordered some edamame and a glass of our favorite kinds. 🙂

Then we made our way back to the brewery…

This brewery, the Granville Island Brewery, was MUCH smaller in comparison to the Steamwhistle one. But they offer such a wide selection of beers. They showed us how they make their beer and where they add the different elements to see how different beers are made. Very informational. The Steamwhistle one was a lot more… Historical? As in, they talked about the history of their brand much more than the actual make up of their beer. But I think that’s just because they make all the same kind of beer. They just make that one pilsner.

Anyways, it was quite fascinating seeing and tasting. I don’t think this brewery tour was quite as polished in terms of presentation, but it was just as fun. At the end of the tour, they gave us samplers of beers. Richard was right. I did like the raspberry one.

Then we pretty much ran across the street so we could eat because my stomach was growling during the tour. LOL. We went to a place called The Vancouver Fish Company. It was definitely kind of an upperscale place… I felt a wee bit underdressed for it. But it wasn’t a big deal because we had our eyes on the prize. We wanted oysters! We wanted seafood!

The oysters did not disappoint. Definitely not. So sososo delicious.

The seafood platter was decent. The crab was slightly overcooked and the salmon was rather bland. But everything else was great!

I’m thinking that next time we come to Granville… I’ll learn how to shuck oysters and Richard and I can go to The Lobster Man and get a dozen for $9.95. We probably could’ve steamed up a crab or lobster and eaten that too. LOL.

But we walked around the market… I loved all the vendors and the fresh fruits, veggies, fish, and other products they sold! Richard bought us some Mangosteen, one of his favorite fruits.

We sat down on the board walk area and he taught me how to eat them. They were so good. They tasted like sweet plums but without the skin.

All this time while we were walking through the markets and taking in the different scenes, I felt this weird, pang of guilt? Like maybe I should put more into when Richard comes down. I’ve been trying to kind of just see where the wind takes us whenever he does… But I feel like I should be planning things more. He spends so much money on me whenever I go up there…

I’m going to plan a super date for the next time he comes down… Which isn’t until August, but… whatever. I’ll have something figured out.

Sunday morning was a lazy morning. We woke up, grabbed breakfast at The Waffle House close by. I had to go to the restroom, but Richard also had to go to the restroom. So I didn’t want one of us to suffer, so I said let’s go to the restroom inside Walmart and that way he can also do some grocery shopping.

He didn’t understand why I couldn’t go the bathroom in his house… But I was happy that he turned into Walmart for me anyways. ❤ That’s love. hahahah.

Then we got home and watched the Godfather pt II while we waited for his Freshprep to arrive. Freshprep is basically like a subscription box where they send you fresh ingredients and then you cook the recipes they provide for you. It’s really cool! I think if I were living out, I’d do the same. Just because it gives you such a variety of recipes and if you like it, you can save the recipe and make it yourself!

I like cooking with Richard. It’s a lot of fun. But it was kind of hard because his kitchenette is so small? Like it’s not meant to hold so many big pots and pans at once. We made Filipino Chicken Adobo. It was pretty decent! The veggies and sauce were my job… And Richard was in charge of the chicken. hehe.

It ended up being pretty tasty! I enjoyed it. The sauce by itself was kind of strong, but it was good with the veggies and rice. The chicken was tender and delicious. I’m glad we got to do this together. It’s like low-key team building! haha We just might need to read the directions all the way through before we do it next time. 😛

I just had a really really awesome time this weekend… I was really sad when I realized it was over and it was…back to reality. I think that’s why I LIKE driving up there, but hate coming back down. Because it’s a new place and a new adventure, but with a best friend who is somehow familiar, but new. I think a lot of my insecurities faded after I got to be with him all weekend.

I love it when Richard shows his affection with me. Whether it be privately or in public. I’m not talking like gross, tongue in my mouth affection. Just like… Little things. When he gives me a peck on the cheek, or when he hugs me (he’s not a hugger), when he strokes my hair… It’s like his actions kind of reaffirm everything and I feel… at home with him?

It sounds so corny and cheesy… But that’s really how it feels. I want him to feel at home the way he makes me feel at home…

I can’t believe it’s already been 8 months. It’s been a little over a year since we first met in person.

I’m excited to see where we’ll go next!

